	Tenure	of Ohio's Chie	ef State School Office	ers
Name	Year Appointed	Tenure	Appointed by	
	State Commission	er of Common Scho	ools	
Samuel Lewis	1837	4 years	General Assembly	
(Secretaries of State)	1840-54			
Hiram H. Barney	1854	4 years	Elected by voters	
Anson Smythe	1857	7 years	Elected by voters	
C. W. H. Cathcart	1863	less than 1 year	Elected by voters	
Emerson E. White	1863	4 years	Appointed to unexp term	
John A. Norris	1866	4 years	Elected by voters	
William D. Henkle	1869	3 years	Elected by voters	
Thomas W. Harvey	1871	5 years	Elected by voters	
Charles C. Smart	1875	4 years	Elected by voters	
James J. Burns	1878	4 years	Elected by voters	
D. F. DeWolf	1881	4 years	Elected by voters	Average Tenure = 3 years
Leroy D. Brown	1884	4 years	Elected by voters	
Eli T. Tappan	1887	2 years	Elected by voters	
John Hancock	1888	4 years	Elected by voters	
Charles C. Miller	1891	2 years	Appointed to unexp term	
Oscar T. Corson	1892	7 years	Elected by voters	
Lewis D. Bonebreak	1898	7 years	Elected by voters	
Edmund A. Jones	1904	6 years	Elected by voters	
John W. Zeller	1909	3 years	Elected by voters	
Frank W. Miller	1911	3 years	Elected by voters	
		ublic Instruction (title	•	
Frank W. Miller	1913	3 years	Elected by voters	
Frank B. Perason	1916	5 years	Elected by voters	
Vernon W. Riegel	1920	2 years	Elected by voters	
Director of Education				
Vernon W. Riegel	1921	6 years	Governor	
John L. Clifton	1927	4 years	Governor	
Beverly O. Skinner	1931	4 years	Governor	
E. L. Bowsher	1935	2 years	Governor	
E. N. Dietrich	1937	3 years	Governor	Average Tenure = 4 years
Kenneth C. Ray	1941	4 years	Governor	
Clyde Hissong	1945	8 years	Governor	
R. M. Eyman	1955	2 years	Governor	
Superintendent of Public Instruction				
E. E. Holt	1957	10 years	State Board of Education	Average Tenure = 12 years
Martin W. Essex	1967	10 years	State Board of Education	(All-elected state board)
Franklin B. Walter	1977	16 years	State Board of Education	
Ted Sanders	1993	2 years	State Board of Education	
John Goff	1995	4 years	State Board of Education	Average Tenure = 4.6 years
Susan Tave Zelman	2000	8 years	State Board of Education	<ul> <li>(Eight Governor appointees on state board)</li> </ul>
Compromising of St	ate Board by Direc	t Partisan Influenc	e from Governor Begins	
Deborah S. Delisle	2008	2 years	??	
Stan Heffner	2011	2 years	??	Average Tenure = 1.8 years
Michael Sawyers	2012	less than 1 year	??	(Governors dictating to state board)
Richard A. Ross	2012	3 years	??	
Lonny J. Rivera	2016		??	
Which governance	e structure has pr	oduced the most s	table leadership? Which h	as produced the least stable?